Divorcees may be eligible for the same kind of premium refund being a parent. If your ex-husband or ex-wife had a poor driving record and you have continued to pay their old surcharged rates given that they left your family permanently, bring this to the immediate attention of your insurance representative. Visit him with all pertinent and documented information so that your premiums may be reduced immediately while the application according to this source for a premium refund is processed.

california auto insurance quotesThe insurance companies hold these transgressions against our records for anywhere from three to call home years, dependant on state law and individual company policy. Several transgressions or a mix of two or more moving violations and reported at-fault accidents may well not only substantially raise your rates, but probably force you to stay with the same company, paying its high premiums, with the aspiration of to not get canceled and thrown in to the assigned risk pool, where it could be even worse.

For instance, suppose you’re a New York State driver who received a speeding ticket during a winter visit Florida so you then slid about the ice on the way home, causing $2,000 injury to your car, which you reported for your insurance company.

For example, if you were separated or divorced last year but forgot that you were still paying a $600 premium based on a two-car family, choosing eligible for an immediate rate reduction to $250 (depending on only your automobile) and a premium refund of $560. If you had neglected to educate insurance company for 2 years, you would be entitled to a $780 refund, and so forth.

If your insurance company procrastinates or refuses outright to pay the refund, your state insurance department (Consumer Affairs Division) will allow you to with a legitimate complaint. As a last resort, there is a option of utilizing the matter with a small-claims court or your attorney. See sample letters A and B. My adage, that a clean record today keeps our prime rates away, is truer now than in the past. Since the creation of the computer age, all moving violations and reported accidents appear on your Department of Motor Vehicles (D.M.V.) Report even if they occurred out of state, while driving a borrowed or rented car, or while driving a company vehicle on the job.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *